Database Schema Modeling Questions

leordevleordev Posts: 7 Brand New

Hello folks! I'm new to EOS and DApps world! I'm a fullstack developer coming from a java and javascript experience, and also some functional programming plays :)

For some reason I cannot post to Developers category... the only categories enabled for me are Constitution, Governance and Testnet. So I've chosen Testnet as the closest one to my topic subject, but if you can, please move to developers! :tongue:

That said, I'd like your help in my database schema. I'm trying to create a table for Places that's related to a PlaceType table. It's just places with their address grouped by types (i.e. coffeshops, libraries, houses etc.).

This is my original schema when working with GraphQL:

// Table Places
type Place @model {
  id: ID! @isUnique
  name: String!
  description: String!
  latitude: Float!
  longitude: Float!
  address: String!
  address2: String
  city: String!
  state: String!
  zip: String!
  phone: String
  email: String
  url: String
  type: PlaceType! @relation(name: "PlacesTypes")
  createdBy: User! @relation(name: "UserPostedPlaces")
}

// Table PlaceTypes
type PlaceType @model {
  id: ID! @isUnique
  name: String!
  places: [Place!]! @relation(name: "PlacesTypes")
}

Now, if I want to reflect this relationship into EOS smart contracts, that's what I'm trying to build but I'm not sure... Can you please help me?

struct PACKED(place) {
    place() {};
    place(char* name, char* description,
      uint128_t latitude, uint128_t longitude,
      char* address, char* address2, char* city,
      char* state, char* zip, char* country,
      char* phone, char* email, char* url,
      uint128_t place_type_id, account_name created_by):name(name),
      description(description), latitude(latitude), longitude(longitude),
      address(address), address2(address2), city(city),
      state(state), zip(zip),country(country),
      phone(phone), email(email), url(url),