What will an arbitrator on EOS look like?

EOS.IO Governance Telegram chat has had a few discussions about arbitrators and their role on the blockchain, resolving disputes and possibly serving as a head in the "three heads of power" (for an example, think of the U.S. government design with its balance of power between executive, legislative, and judicial branches).

Arbitrator backgrounds are undetermined, will these folks be required to have a law background in order to resolve disputes on the blockchain? Who will pay these arbitrators, the EOS DAC itself through a community fund or as a fee for the disputing parties? Interested in hearing others' thoughts below, as this seems it could definitely be a job opportunity in EOS.

Also re-posting this in the Governance, Econ and Philosophy forums here for better exposure.

Comments

• JamesLsalmonJamesLsalmon Posts: 1 Brand New

I am an attorney by training but I now own a consulting company the helps stakeholders in the built environment increase efficiency and productivity through continuous improvement processes. In my role as an attorney and as a consultant I advise clients on dispute resolution mechanisms of all kinds and I would be glad to work with the EOS community to establish effective alternative dispute resolution mechanisms. Mediation, arbitration and litigation all have advantages and disadvantages. The key is to put effective tools and processes in place BEFORE disputes arise. As a trained mediator and arbitrator 'd be glad to provide dispute resolution services to members of the EOS community - I've conducted mediation online through skype / gotomeeting and similar platforms - but again, and more importantly, I'd be interested in working with interested players to establish effective dispute resolution mechanisms that we embed in smart contracts at the outset.

James

• thomasbcoxthomasbcox Posts: 148 Sr. Member - 1/5 EOS Tokens

James, that is a wonderful idea.